Me-Made-June Day 1

Well, I decided to dive in head first and make Day 1 of Me-Made-June awesome. So I pulled out not one, but TWO handmade items to wear today!

Me-Made-June Day 1 Outfit

Me-Made-June Day 1: Colette Violet blouse, BurdaStyle Jenny skirt

The skirt is the BurdaStyle Jenny skirt in a black cotton/linen blend. I bought the fabric at Fancy Tiger last year some time. I lined the skirt with hot pink silk. It makes me happy. The skirt looks a bit wonky at the bottom. I worked all day, sorry. But seriously, I think that my lining and my skirt are different lengths and I hemmed them together. I think that adds to the  wonk. I need to take out my hem stitches and have the lining floating inside the skirt.

Colette Violet in red gingham

Colette Violet in red gingham

So, here I am in my new Colette Violet blouse in red gingham. I got the gingham at an estate sale a few months back. I must have gotten 5 yards of red gingham for about $1/yard. When I unrolled the fabric there was a label pinned on that said “1968 38 cents/yard.” I LOVE this shirt. I would wear it every day if no one would notice. I may make another one in green gingham (same estate sale). I went all out with the construction of this blouse. Every single seam is flat-felled. Yes, you heard that right. Every seam. Even the seams where you set in the sleeves. You know, those circular ones? Yeah, those. I altered the pattern a wee bit. I hate facings. They are easy to sew, but hard to wear. So I drafted a button placket. I think I may have taken a bit too much off the front, but it’s not too bad. The buttons are all vintage shell buttons that I found in my White treadle machine’s drawers when I bought it. I need about 802,452,464 more of these. I’m obsessed. The next one I make I will take more process photos and show you all the flat-felled seams. They are actually way easy and I think they push the blouse up a notch.

Also, thank you Nate for taking the pics, you’re the best!

Leave a Reply

