Goodale progress

As part of my Spring/Summer wardrobe I decided to knit the Goodale cardigan.

There’s a lot to love about this pattern (check out the Ravelry page for tons of super cute versions!). The front folds over and forms my favorite design element: pockets! Also, buttons! The I-cord trim is a nice touch, too. And it’s really, really, really fast to knit.

I chose Knit Picks CotLin yarn in Whisker with which to knit it. Cotton and linen sounded like the perfect Spring/Summer yarn. The pattern requires about 7 balls of this yarn, and at $2.79/ball, that comes out to under $20. That’s my kind of knitting project!

Goodale Cardigan

Goodale cardigan, almost finished with the body!

I’m almost finished with the body and then I have the sleeves and the pockets to sew down. One more item for Me-Made-June! Yay!

I’ve knit the body longer than the pattern said to and I still think it needs a bit more length.

Goodale cardigan front

Goodale cardigan on me. Weird angle, huh? I need a tripod or a husband to help.

I’m trying to talk myself out of knitting this again in Canary, or Surf, or Moroccan Red.

This will be my first sweater since the Pirate sweater that was knit whilst sailing on my Uncle Harry’s boat in the Puget Sound one summer.

Leave a Reply

