WIP: Absorba the Great

Absorba the Great

Absorba, the Great Bathmat, v2.0

Mason Dixon Knitting is one of my favorite knitting books. I love almost all of their non-clothing patterns, in both books. This project, Absorba, the Great Bathmat, is one of my all time favorites – it’s right up there with the Ballband Warshrags. I knitted one of these about 6 years ago, I think. Recently it had to be retired because the cats had finally destroyed it.

Peache & Creme & Absorba

Peaches & Creme & Absorba

Great timing though – I had just ordered more Peaches & Creme double worsted cotton yarn from Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co. Who, by the way, are the absolute nicest people EVER. Seriously. Their customer services is amazing! So, I figured now was as good a time as any to get to work on a few rugs and a bathmat for the apartment. As you can see, the cones of yarn are HUGE and will make many many many rugs.

This bathmat ends up sooo squishy and soft that I want to make a few for the bedroom, too.

Absorba, close-up

Absorba, close-up

The rug is knit on large needles with double worsted weight cotton held triple stranded. All that means this that this rug knits up super fast. And I LOVE log cabin knitting, the fewer ends to sew in the happier I am!

Leave a Reply

