On the Cutting Table

blue plaid rose parfait

A new dress in the works. Parfait, again.

Because of all of this Me-Made-June insanity around here I’ve come to realize that I need a lot more dresses in my wardrobe. 5 is not enough. And more often than not, I find myself wanting to wear my Parfait dresses over and over and over again. This clearly means that I need a LOT more Parfait dresses. So, I’m beginning another one!

blue plaid with roses close up

fabric close up. There are little tiny roses in pink and purple.

I got this fabric for about $1 at an estate sale earlier this year. I think it’s cotton, or a cotton-poly blend. It’s the strangest print to my eyes. It’s sort of a plaid look from far away, but up close there are roses! Strange! But I love it anyways. It’s 36″ wide and there is 3 yards of it. I should just be able to squeeze a Parfait out of this.

thread and buttons

green thread and blue buttons

Because I’m insane, and because I’m trying to use only items in my stash I’m going to use green thread I bought too much of who knows when and these blue buttons. The blue buttons came from my vintage White treadle machine, there was a whole drawer full of vintage buttons in the case when I bought it. About half of the buttons are awesome, the other half are either disintegrated or just plain ugly. These are still on their original card. The bottom of the card says something along the lines of “guaranteed to be authentic and for the latest styles and patterns.” Yes, just the assurance I needed! I need to find a zipper next.

As I’ve made 2 Parfaits before, I’m pretty sure that this dress will be fast. I already know what alterations to make (have made most of them on the pattern already). And this time I’m totally sewing down the straps instead of securing them with the buttons. The buttons will just be decorative on the straps. The only problem I have with my other 2 parfaits is that the straps fall down. That and the first one the facings always want to flip out, so I fixed that by just cutting 2 of the bodice and lining the bodice instead of facing it. I’m hoping I can have this done by the end of the week. (crosses fingers)

Leave a Reply

