Strawberry jam

Strawberries were on sale this week, so I made strawberry jam for the first time ever.

20130329-122559.jpg

I didn’t follow a recipe. I just sort of winged it. My plan was to use it as filling for a cake, so I knew I wasn’t going to can it.

I used 2lbs of strawberries, maybe 1/2 cup of sugar, a 1/2 cup of lemon juice, and a splash of orange blossom water. Seriously, orange blossom water is my secret ingredient. I’ve been finding more and more ways to sneak it into recipes and I LOVE IT. Back to the jam. I threw all of that in a big pot and just let it cook down until it was the right thickness. Be careful though, it’s easy to burn if the heat is too high. It’ll also boil over really quickly when the heat is too high. And sugary syrup is a pain to clean up. I know from experience.

20130329-123121.jpg

This jam was so fast and easy and yummy I found myself thinking “why don’t I do this more often?” We use jam and jelly regularly. I might just start making a small batch a few times a month.

20130329-123249.jpg

Leave a Reply

