Chickens!

Well, we ordered our chicks! We decided to go with My Pet Chicken. We ordered 10 chicks, 2 each of 5 different breeds. The chicks won’t be here until July due to availability of the breeds we ordered. But, I figure that gives us plenty of time to build the coop and learn about what we just got ourselves into.

Our goal is to build the coop a cheaply as possible. Nate has been scouring the free section of CraigsList for building materials.

We are getting two Australorps, two Buff Orpingtons, two Silver Laced Wyandottes, two Gold Laced Wyandottes, and two Colombian Wyandottes.

20130329-124339.jpg

I think the Wyandottes are my favorite, they look like their feathers have been traced with a sharpie. I love it! They are also a friendly breed that is cold hardy and are good layers. Sounds perfect for Colorado!

I’m super excited about the chickens. Nate is super excited about building the coop together. So, he’s working on design ideas and I got to pick the breeds. I’m happy with that division of labor.

Leave a Reply

