Moss Making Month: Classic Denim Skirt, part 1

20140406-074924.jpg I had planned to start earlier last week, but my inability to even walk in my craft room because of all the crap overflowing onto the floor had me at the point of a nervous break down. I proceeded to organize (and trash) the remnants of everything I’ve ever purchased for craft projects over the past 8 years. Seriously, the amount of CRAP that I held on to because “I might use it, one day!” was staggering. I threw out 4 trash bags of crap, and I have another box of fabric and patterns that are all awesome, but I know I won’t ever use them, my style has shifted away from those styles. So, blog give-a-way soon!!

Now that my craft room is clean and organized, I just want to sleep in there. Relax in there. Drink my morning coffee in there. Just everything.

So, I finally started my first Moss. I just went with a straight size 10. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it fits. But, Stephanie pointed out: slightly too small, just tell everyone that you meant for it to be a high-waisted version. Slightly too big, just tell everyone that it’s supposed to be low-rise and hang on your hips. Brilliant!

20140406-075831.jpg I found my edge-stitching foot while cleaning! I’m sure that it’s one of those things that a few years ago – when it got misplaced doing whatever it was I was doing with it – that I didn’t realize had such magical powers. I’m really good at edge stitching with my regular foot, partly because I’m a perfectionist and I go so slow that I might as well be hand sewing. But, seriously?? This foot is AMAZING. It makes edge stitching (and it’s cousin, top stitching) almost mindless. The blade in the middle just makes the whole seam glide by and my flat felled seams are damn near perfect, if I do say so myself.


I’m inserting my zipper today (fingers crossed!), so I think I’ll have my first one finished tomorrow. It’s too bad that my work wardrobe says I have to have skirts to my knees. Actually, that’s probably a really good thing. I’m just a bit sad I won’t be wearing my mini skirts EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. I might try a Moss with the band at the bottom so that I have something I can wear to work. But that’s lower in priority for me.

Oh yeah! What Mosses am I planning?

20140406-080314.jpg

1. Classic denim with gold top stitching and a brass zipper and brass jeans-style button. Mine is pretty dark, kind of like this fabric from Mood. I’m considering adding butt pockets because I always use pockets. Always. Oh, and I bought brass rivets for the pocket edges, classic jeans-style.

2. Gold stretch denim with METALLIC THREAD TOP STITCHING (if you’re gonna do gold denim, you might as well DO GOLD ALL THE WAY!). And, I just got a fantastic gold zipper. So, I’m thinking I’ll move the zipper to the back and do an exposed zipper and then have dance parties in my new skirt every single day. I bought this fabric from Joann’s on sale back before the holidays with plans for a NYE party skirt or something. Never happened. And Joann’s doesn’t have it on their website anymore, so I’ll take a photo as best I can later.

3. Random red organic cotton twill/sateen (I bought this fabric at the same time that I bought the fabric for my wedding dress FIVE YEARS AGO. And it’s never been used. It’s super nice, too.) with red top stitching to blend in, maybe a red button if I can find one.

4. Robert Kaufman railroad denim stripe with navy top stitching and brass hardware.

5. Mochi Dot (by Momo for Moda) cotton/linen polka dot – black & natural dots – with black top stitching and probably brass or just black hardware

6. [bonus work-appropriate round] I’ve got a couple of suit-weight wools in my stash that I might break out for this. A navy pin stripe and a grey and blue plaid. I’d like a lining of some sort with the wools so I can wear tights in the winter.

Don’t forget, you can grab your copy of the Moss Mini Skirt from Grainline Studio and if you’re on Instagram follow along with the #mossmakingmonth and #grainlinestudio tags!

Aaaand…. 1-2-3 GO!

2 thoughts on “Moss Making Month: Classic Denim Skirt, part 1

  1. Ooh I love your moss plans – a gold one would be ace! I’m away from my sewing machine till mid-April but I’m hoping to get started on one then in some pink twill – I like Stephanie’s attitude about the sizing, I’ll need to remember that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

