Moss Making Month: Classic Denim Skirt, part 2

It’s DONE!

My first Moss skirt is complete!

sara2

The verdict? I LOVE IT!

I seriously went all out in the construction of this baby. I was going for that classic jeans-style. I flat-felled all the seams I possibly could. The front seam I did a fake flat-felled seam since a correctly constructed one would have made the zipper insertion much more difficult. I top stitched EVERYTHING. I used rivets on the pocket edges. I did French seams on the bottom edge of the pockets. And, I used gimp cord in my button hole (added strength and durability). Now, I’m totally not worried about throwing this skirt in the washing machine.

I used a stretch denim I’ve had in my stash for AGES and probably bought at Joann’s with a coupon once upon a time. I also used some left over Anna Maria Horner Pastry Line cotton voile for the pocket linings.

IMG_8712

Look how pretty it turned out! One of my recent discoveries was my edge stitching foot. It made the flat-felled seams almost mindless. If you’ve never used the edge stitching foot, it’s the one with the rudder in the middle of the foot. You guide your fabric edge, or folded edge in the case of flat-felled seams, down the rudder and it ensures that your stitching is always the same distance from that edge. It also made top stitching the waist band a cinch. Brilliant! Try it some time! Also: thicker top-stitching thread is TOTALLY worth it on denim. Regular sewing thread just doesn’t have enough visual weight, in my opinion.

IMG_8723

If you look closely at the center front seam above and the side seam, you can see the difference in the two. The side seam is a true flat-felled seam, the center front is the fake one. From the outside they look almost identical, the inside is where the difference shows. I love seam finishes and creating the perfect finish on a garment. I’m still annoyed that I don’t really know how to make a fly front without some semi-raw edges. I used my Bernina’s faux-overlock stitch to finish the edges of the fly facing and the fly shield. I went over the raw edges about 3 times each. Those threads don’t stand a chance of coming loose. At one point, when inserting my fly, I did completely stitch through the fly shield. That would have been awkward, there would have been no way to open it. Oops.

IMG_8726

The one thing I’m trying to figure out is what I did wrong with the pockets. Do you see how the bottom edge wants to curl upwards? The second one I’m working on looks like it’s going to have the same issue. It makes the front of the skirt a bit bulky, since it won’t lay flat. I’m curious if I cut out the wrong size of one piece? I can’t figure it out. I don’t want the bulk like that on my next one. The denim disguises it, and with your hands in the pockets, no one can tell.

sara4

I also recently finished a Scout Tee from Grainline Studio in a super light and flow-y chambray. I’ve been wearing one or the other of these two garments just about every day since I completed them. This might be my summer uniform this year. This shirt is so comfortable, I think I need about 100 more garments made from chambray.

My sandals are also one of my favorite pairs of shoes. Piper sandals, they have been handmade in Texas since 1971 by the same family. And, they offer repairs, new straps put on for free, and re-soling (not for free) for as long as they are in business. They are amazingly comfortable, too.

I also realized that when I got home and took off my complete Grainline outfit, I then put on my (as of yet unblogged) Polka Dot Chambray Lakeside Pajamas. ALL GRAINLINE ALL DAY.

It’s pretty much a Grainline love fest around here EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. Jen’s patterns are just really great wardrobe basics. I love all of them.

How’s Moss Making Month going for you? Have you made any Moss skirts yet? Don’t forget to tag us on Instagram with #grainlinestudio and #mossmakingmonth !

One last shot, from the back:

sara3

Thanks for taking pictures of me, Allie!!

10 thoughts on “Moss Making Month: Classic Denim Skirt, part 2

  1. I really want to make this skirt but the fly intimidates me something awful. I also need to learn how to flat-fell… I have no idea. But you’re inspiring me to try! Finding a denim skirt that isn’t ankle-length has been absolutely impossible, and I pretty much live in a denim skirt all summer long.

    Like

  2. This is such a perfect summer outfit! I love the idea of a chambray scout & your moss mini looks so good! I’m going I’ll have time to make one when I get back my hols as I have some bright pink twill that would be perfect!

    Like

    • It’s definitely a classic! I really recommend finding thicker top stitching thread, it makes more of a difference than I realized before I tried it. Also, if you have an edge stitching foot it makes top stitching super fast and way less stressful!

      Like

  3. OK…first of all, this skirt is so awesome! I am so impressed with all of your seam finishes and rivets and topstitching, oh my! But the pockets!! I had that problem on both my Moss skirts, I figured I had goofed something up! I ended up cutting off the bottom edge of the bigger piece and serging them back together so they were flat. Before I make another I am going to look at the pattern pieces and figure out what’s up.

    Like

  4. Did you ladies figure out the pocket snafu? I’m getting ready to sew my first Moss (YEA!!!) and reading tips and blogs before I start. Thanks if you have any tips because if there is a way to sew it wrong, I will do that way first! And second!
    Beautiful skirt by the way.
    Erin

    Like

Leave a Reply

